Governing Body

The governing body has been reconstituted at a smaller size in line with the new Government guidance to ensure it has the range of skills it needs and can be cohesive and dynamic.  It is a combination of former governors and new governors selected for their skills, knowledge and experience.  It includes governors representative of the parents and staff.

The governing body are charged with driving up academy and student performance and ensuring that resources are used well to give every child the best possible education.  Its prime purpose in law is therefore to conduct the academy with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the academy.

Its core functions are defined as:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the academy and its students, and the performance management of staff
  • overseeing the financial performance of the academy and making sure its money is well spent

The governing body normally meets 6 times a year and has two main committees that meet once or twice a term:

  • Curriculum and Standards Committee
  • Finance, Personnel and General Purposes Committee

Contacting the Governors 

The clerk to the governing body is Ms Sarah Davies.

All correspondence to members of the Governing Body should be addressed to them at:
Northumberland Park Community School, Trulock Road, Tottenham, London, N17 0PG

If you wish to contact a governor by telephone please call the Executive Assistant to the Headteacher, Ms Sonia East on 020 8275 4803.

Governing Body Members



Name Type Appointed Relevant Interest Attendance at full GB meetings 2015/2016
Malcolm Weston Chair Sept 2015 None 5 out of 5
Fiona McCourt Vice Chair Feb 2014 None 4 out of 5
Monica Duncan Headteacher N/A None 5 out of 5
Barbara Firth Co-opted Governor Sept 2015 NACE Associate 3 out of 5
Tony Millard Co-opted Governor Nov 2008 None 4 out of 5
Jerome Frost Co-opted Governor  Sept 2015 None 4 out of 5
David Hewett Staff Governor Apr 2014 None 5 out of 5
Ben Boyle Associate Governor None 4 out of 5
Lloyda Fanusie Associate Governor Sept 1997 None 3 out of 5
Pearl Davis Parent Governor Mar 2014 None 5 out of 5
Julia Manzhura Parent Governor Mar 2014 None 5 out of 5
Dione Gordon-Porter Parent Governor Sept 2013 None 2 out of 5
Amina Khan Parent Governor Jan 2017 None N/A